Leigh vs the First Date

So I write about how rubbish I’ve been at online dating and then I get a message from a man I find attractive AND who makes me laugh. And get this, instead of ignoring him for two weeks while I mentally attempt to draft something witty, I just replied. Just like that. Then he sent me another message, and I only went and bloody replied to that one too. Do I get a high-five or a fist bump or something?

Instead of feeling sick with fear or only replying out of obligation I found myself being excited and smiley when I saw an email pop up letting me know I had a message from him. And when he then asked me if I wanted to go for a coffee, I didn’t even have to think about whether to say yes.

Obviously, I wouldn’t be me if I hadn’t had a little nervous wobble. I had to text him to postpone because of an overrunning hair appointment and the daft, scared part of me really wanted to just cancel the whole thing instead.  But fortunately I didn’t as his face is nice, he’s funny, eloquent, has nice muscles and I could spot a sexy bit of chest hair, which I’m rather partial to.

One coffee turned into two, which turned into going for dinner and before I knew it was half nine and he was walking me to my car.  All I could think about was whether he was going to kiss me and not in the oh god I hope he doesn’t try to kiss me way that I’ve become accustomed to, but in a I wonder if he’ll kiss me.  I hope he kisses me.  What if he doesn’t kiss me?  Shall I kiss him? kind of way.

And then he did kiss me.  And my brain shut up.

I don’t want to gush* for fear of tempting fate and it failing before it’s even really begun, but I like him.  He’s fun and I fancy him and I’m looking forward to seeing him again.

*Totally do want to gush.
This entry was posted in Boys, Dating. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Leigh vs the First Date

  1. brennig says:

    Oh this is so sweet!

  2. Jo says:

    So pleased for you, Leigh. The terror of the first date (particularly when its been a while) is something I can definitely relate to as well at the moment. I hope you let yourself get excited, even a little bit. :)

    • scabbyknees says:

      Thank you. :) After I got over that first bit of fear it was really relaxed and lovely. Second date is tomorrow and I’m definitely more excited than scared.

      And oooh on you identifying with the first date terror, I’m pleased for you too!

  3. Pingback: Leigh vs The Talk | Dusting myself off…

Leave a Reply

